Bill Neal of Roemheld UK Wins 2015 Cyril Johnson Memorial Award

The winner of the 2015 Cyril Johnson Memorial Award goes to Bill Neal of Roemheld UK in recognition of his achievements and dedication to both Roemheld  and the engineering industry as a whole. This is a well deserved award for Bill as he is also due to “retire” at the end of 2015.

A delighted Bill said “The award came as a fantastic surprise and I was very proud to receive it. As I look back at the 48 years plus that I have been in the industry, at Alfred Herberts, Sandvik Cormorant and Roemheld (UK), I have seen some incredible changes over the years. Technology has moved on considerably from the days when we were making 2D Capstans by hand.  Although I am retiring at the end of 2015, I am excited to see what the future holds for manufacturing and long may this sector continue to flourish in the UK.”


Craftsman Tools Commercial Manager, John Wilkinson (pictured) presented the Cyril Johnson Memorial Award At Seco Tools



The Cyril Johnson memorial award has been established in recognition of the outstanding contribution made by the late Cyril Johnson to the precision engineering industry. Cyril was a founding partner of Craftsman Tools in 1953 and led the company for more than forty years. During that time he also contributed greatly to the precision engineering industry and the GTMA. Under his guidance, the company grew substantially and has been at the forefront of work and toolholding technology throughout it’s almost 60 year history.